Plain Language Awards

Celebrate the stories of our clearest business communicators

Judges for the Plain Language Awards

We’re so grateful to our wonderful panel of judges who kindly support the Awards. Between them, they have extensive and varied experience that spans decades and continents. We’re so lucky to have them with us!

Get to know the judges in each category for 2023.

Award categoryLead judgeJudges
Plain Language Champion
— Best Organisation
Matt HuntingtonMatt Huntington
Christine Smith
Emily Harris
Plain Language Champion
— Best Individual or Team
Steph PrinceSteph Prince
Irene Stotko
Teresa Housel
Best Plain Language Document
— Public Sector
Rob WallerRob Waller
Meredith Evans
Elizabeth Beach
Best Plain Language Document
— Private Sector
Jacqueline TaylorJacqueline Taylor
Jonathan Tan
Kate Harrison Whiteside
Best Plain Language Website
— Public Sector
Marjon LeemborgMarjon Leemborg
Linda Lior
Suraya Casey
Best Plain Language Website
— Private Sector
Kylie McGrathKylie McGrath
Paula van Gemen
James Burgess
Best Plain Language Sentence TransformationMaryland SpencerMaryland Spencer
Caitlin Whiteman
Marja Stack
Best Plain Language Annual ReportDeanna Lorianni and Emma FosseyDeanna Lorianni
Emma Fossey
Emily Falloon
Best Plain Language Legal DocumentAndrew PeglerAndrew Pegler
Kathryn Reeves
Laura Cheftel
Best Plain Language Technical CommunicatorLisa WildeLisa Wilde
Laurence Walls
Kathleen Dobson
Best Plain Language TurnaroundMelissa WardellMelissa Wardell
Roz Lawlor
Verity White
People’s Choice
— Best Plain Language Communication
— Worst Brainstrain Communication
Simon HertnonSimon Hertnon
Romina Marazzato Sparano
Ella Price

How the judging process works

Plain language criteria for documents and websites

What types of user-testing do judges look for?

Entry terms and conditions