Plain Language Awards

Celebrate the stories of our clearest business communicators

How the judging process works

The judging panels meet to consider all the entries

Each category in the Plain Language Awards has an independent judging panel of international and New Zealand-based experts. The judges will review your entries using the specific requirements for each award and against the Write Plain Language Standard for documents and websites.

The judges will:

  • select a shortlist of up to five entries for each award
  • select up to three finalists from each shortlist
  • choose a winner for each award.

Judges for the 2023 Plain Language Awards

Plain language criteria for documents and websites

What types of user-testing do judges look for?

Entry terms and conditions