Plain Language Awards

Celebrate the stories of our clearest business communicators

Our Plain Language Champions

Join an elite band of past winners!

Would you like to be one of our award-winning plain language champions?

The organisations below proved they have what it takes to shine. They deserve to be celebrated!

Read our blog about how to become a Plain English Champion

Find out how to enter our Champion categories

Best Organisation winners

2022: AA Insurance

2021: Citizens Advice Bureau

2017: Utilities Disputes

2015: Castalia Strategic Advisors

2014: Deloitte

2013: Ministry of Social Development

2012: Cancer Society of New Zealand

2011: Statistics New Zealand

2010: Office of the Auditor-General

2009: Office of the Banking Ombudsman

2008: New Zealand Trade and Enterprise

2007: Castalia

2006: A J Park

Best Individual or Team winners

2022: Phil Belcher, Medical Assurance Society (MAS)

2021: Lauren Kelindeman, Legalite

2018: Better Letters Project, Ministry of Social Development

2017: Steph Prince, NZ Transport Agency

2015: Careers New Zealand — Online Content team

2014: Ministry of Social Development — Sarah Moodie

2013: ANZ Wealth

2012: NZ Transport Agency — Manawatu Gorge Team

2011: Cancer Society of New Zealand

2010: Stephen Leong — Transpower New Zealand Limited

2009: Cancer Society New Zealand — Editorial Team

2008: Deborah Morris — Barnardos New Zealand

2006: Tanya Piejus — Department of Building and Housing

Read about how to become a Plain Language Champion

Find out how to enter our Champion categories